jamesklight

thoughts on 30

In Uncategorized on March 23, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Last week I reached my 30th birthday. Many people would think that I or others would be negatively affected by graduating into the 30’s. Here are few thoughts:

  • I feel very similar [maybe exactly] the same as I did at 29, but I feel more than 10 years older than 20.
  • In speaking with my Grandfather [age 92] I get a nervous feeling that my first 30 years lack the significant events that one would hope characterize their life. Hearing the heroic stories of his time in WWII, and thinking of how his time spent as the pilot of a B-24 has defined his life in so many ways makes me wonder. I wonder if  I have [or will] do anything that will be of such notable definition. When I am 92 will I be asked about parts of my first 30 years with the same anticipation as I have for my grandpa’s war stories? Then I think, were the 1940’s just a much more significant time then the 2000’s.
  • I feel pressure to have some deep analysis of my life. To define the meaning thus far and to chart a grand new path. The energy and honest desire for either I can not find.
  • I have started to envy people when I hear their age is 24, 27, 25, 2?…
  • As my body aches today from a 2.something mile run last night I am reminded that I am not the still faithful runner I had hoped to be at age 18.
  • I do have a few items that I would like to do in the NEXT 30:
  1. Run another marathon [under 4:30]
  2. Visit all 50 states, Europe & Asia
  3. Payoff my debt [the paid off home mortgage will take the place of a BMW as a status symbol 🙂 ]
    Pretty non-extensive list I know, certainly there are many others that could / should be listed.
  • 30, where does the time go?
  • Get busy living or get busy dying    – Andy Dufresne [Shawshank Redemption]

 

 

  1. Run a marathon? Sounds fun. You better get back out on the trails!

Leave a Reply

