jamesklight

a new [old] leaf

In Uncategorized on May 13, 2011 at 8:49 am

Yesterday I was inspired by a few things to, well, turn over a new leaf. But it isn’t entirely new, because what I really want to do is get back to some practices of my younger years. I’ll talk about this new [old] leaf more but first the things that inspired me.

  • This video about dirty jobs.
  • I read this series of blog posts about setting a new path.
  • Then I played softball last night and my body felt way too tired after running to 1st base. But even more so, my friend Ron who is in great shape for a man his age, [actually great shape period] asked me, “When are you going to run again? I want to see the James from the years I missed.”

Ron’s comments helped the inspiration of the video and the blog aim into a goal.

  • I don’t want to be out of shape any more.
  • I don’t want my shirts and pants to be too tight.
  • I don’t want to be winded after a run to first base.
  • I want to share running with my kids. [ I always dreamed of doing that]

Specifically:

  • I want to weigh 185 [I currently weigh 218]
  • I want to run the Kansas City half marathon

I am going to do this by:

  • Cutting down on eating out.
  • Eat a salad for lunch at least once per week.
  • Use RunKeeper iPhone app to track my progress.
  • Walk at work
  • Run 3 days per week, building to 5 days per week.

As an initial motivator I will not eat at Chipotle or drink a Dr. Pepper until I have gone 30 miles, which should take 2-3 weeks at this point.

I have lived a running life style before, I have tried to go back before

But now I commit to turning over my new [old] leaf.

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

  1. Wow! Those are some great goals! Good luck. I’ll be right here cheering you on the whole way. And the boys will be excited to run with you!

  2. Thanks for sharing this here and linking to my post. I may Tweet it again. BTW, I use the LoseIt App for my iPhone and it has helped me get in better shape. You might consider something like this.

  3. Sam and I have often talked about your guys’ “running days.” Sam really ought to get back to being in shape too (he feels so much better when he exercises!) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

