jamesklight

Micah Light

In Life on March 16, 2012 at 10:10 am

Monday morning Jodi had a regular Dr. appointment. I had been texting with her about how I wished I could be there to hear the heartbeat. [Who wouldn’t rather hear a little baby heartbeat instead of sitting in a cubical at work on a Monday.] Jodi agreed to record the heartbeat with her phone so I could listen to it later. A little time passed when she sent a text that they couldn’t hear the heartbeat with the monitor so they were going to do an ultrasound and that I should probably come home. Once I was driving I called and stayed on while she went in for the ultrasound. Hoping and praying that everything was ok. Then I heard Jodi softly say, “there’s no heartbeat.”
Since that moment our life has changed. The days have been doctors, hospital, funeral home, trying to rest, trying to figure out what to do.
Jodi’s sisters Margee & Melinda were able to come down right away. They were a huge help. Many of our friends have been a great support with offers of meals, child care, ect. We have felt loved.
We do not know yet if Micah was a boy or girl, we may never know. We do not know yet what went wrong, we may never really know that either. What we do know is our baby is in the care of our Lord. It makes us more aware that life is precious. That there are no guarantees. We have three amazing boys, who are full of life. We are thankful.

  1. Oh, James, we are so, so, so sorry. I wish we could say or do something to help. You will definitely be in our prayers and on our prayer lists. God bless your family at this hard time!

  2. Sorry to hear this James. So sad.

  3. Beautifully written and a wonderful name for your sweet baby.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about this, James. We’re praying for you guys.

  5. I am so sorry! I can’t fix things, but I can say that I love you guys!

  6. James, I’m so sorry to have heard this!!! I think you may remember we have been in this boat at least 6 times!!! Your pain in this loss is very much ours! We will be specifically praying for you, Jodi and the boys!!! Please give her a hug for me! Joanna Baltzly

  7. James & Jodi: I am so sorry. You will be in my prayers.

  8. My heart hurts for you and Jodi. I will be praying for you and realize this will never be the end of your loss. Hugs for both of you.

  9. My heart is breaking for you and Jodi. I’m praying for you and the rest of your family. *hug*

  10. Thank you all for you words.

  11. You and your dear family are in our thoughts and prayers. Gather strength and love from your friends and family at this time. It’s these tough times that reinforce how much we cherish our children. Give everyone a hug from us.

  12. I’m so sorry for your loss… I went through this with my fifth and sixth babies… it was the most difficult trials of my life… and words can not express my loss or your loss and confusion you feel. But with the Gospel of Jesus Christ … and the atonement … I found an amazing peace and comfort through it all. I realize so much more about myself, a daughter of a Heavenly Father… and how much he loves me. As like you … I never knew if mine were boys or girls… I never got to meet them … I had so much love for someone I hadn’t met in this life…but have an eternity to get to know them …for that I’m grateful. I think of them often… and have such a longing for them…May you find peace in this journey and the comfort you and your family needs. (P.s. I don’t know you but your story touched me… and I’m related to Lynissa DeSpain) ❤

  13. I have read this several times and each time I feel so sad. I keep thinking of Grandpa Huff as well as great grandmas and grandpas meeting your precious Micah. Praying for you.

  14. […] but from when we found out Jodi was expecting till now my thoughts have been drawn to our daughter Micah, whom we never got to meet. We did not plan his name with this in mind, but he has in some part […]

Leave a Reply

